Following an exceptionally busy year in 2016 with a total of 78 HREC meetings held, Bellberry have registered our seventh and eighth HRECs with the NHMRC.

We are now delighted to announce that Professor Ben Canny has been appointed as our Committee G Chair.  Prof Canny is already familiar with Bellberry after joining as a member of our HRECs in June 2016.

Ben is Head of Medicine at University of Tasmania where he is responsible for the Divisions of Medicine, Pharmacy, Psychology and Paramedicine.  Prior to this he was Associate Dean in the Faculty of Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences at Monash University and President of the Academic Board.  Ben is an experienced researcher and we welcome the breadth of research and ethics experience he brings to Bellberry having Chaired the Monash University HREC for five years.  More information can be seen at:  http://www.utas.edu.au/profiles/staff/health/ben-canny.  Ben will commute to Adelaide for the monthly Committee G meetings.

We are also pleased to announce Dr Michael James has been appointed as our Committee H Chair in addition to his ongoing long-term role as Chair of Committee C. Michael is Chief Medical Scientist within the Rheumatology Unit at Royal Adelaide Hospital and Professor within the Discipline of Medicine at University of Adelaide.